DUI/OWI/DWI

What Happens if You Refuse the Chemical Test After an OWI Arrest?

A person arrested for operating while intoxicated (DUI) will be given what’s called a chemical test. The purpose of a chemical test is to see if a person has alcohol or drugs in their system and how much. This chemical test will either be in the form of blowing into a machine at the police station or will be done through a blood draw. The test could be a urine test as well but that’s not common. When is […]

Continue Reading

Utah Lowers Legal Limit to .05.

Starting in the new year, Utah will be the first state to have a legal drinking and driving limit of .05. The previous limit in Utah was .08, which is the legal limit in Michigan and the rest of the country. How Much is .05? A .05 could be about three drinks. It all depends on the person. Either way, it’s less than .08, which is about 4 drinks. Either way, a BAC of.05 is less than .08, […]

Continue Reading

Will a DUI Prevent Me From Getting a CDL?

Yes, any driving under the influence conviction will make you ineligible for a commercial driver’s license. The length of ineligibility will depend on the type of DUI conviction. Any Driver’s License Suspension Leads to 36 Months of CDL Eligibility For starters, any type of driver’s license suspension or revocation will make you ineligible for a CDL for 36 months (3 years). Two of the most common DUI charges carry a driver’s license suspension. The standard DUI charge, operating […]

Continue Reading

What is the Difference Between a DUI and an OWI?

Many people ask me what’s the difference between a DUI and an OWI. I don’t lessen any confusion because I use both acronyms a lot on my website. DUI stands for driving under the influence. OWI stands for operating while intoxicated. Both phrases mean the same thing, which is a term for the crime drinking and driving (or drugged driving). The phrase operating while intoxicated is the correct term from a legal standpoint. However, the phrase driving under […]

Continue Reading

Learn About DUIs in our AYL Articles

Here are some articles to answer all your DUI questions: Is there any place where you could legally drink and drive? The operating while intoxicated statute tells us where you cannot drive while intoxicated, but is there any place you could legally drink and drive? Read our article on Can I Drink and Drive in My Own Driveway? to answer these burning questions and more. Self-driving cars? Flying Cars? The cars of the future may be closer than […]

Continue Reading

What Drugs Do The Police Look For in a DUI Case?

When a person is arrested for driving under the influence, the person’s blood is drawn and analyzed by the Michigan State Police. The State Police are looking for alcohol and drugs. There are a lot of different kinds of drugs out there, and the blood cannot be analyzed for every single kind at once. So the blood is analyzed for a little over 50 different types of drugs. The blood will be further analyzed for other drugs only […]

Continue Reading

Can a DUI be Dismissed?

A DUI can be dismissed – but we must put in some work first. How to Get a DUI Dismissed Many clients have this image of the defense lawyer rolling into court and speaking with the prosecutor in the backroom. They believe all the defense lawyer must do is explain to the prosecutor why the evidence against the client isn’t strong, and the case is dismissed. The reality is the prosecutor will not simply dismiss the case because […]

Continue Reading

What is a Drug Recognition Expert?

A Drug Recognition Expert is a police officer trained to determine whether a driver is impaired by drugs. The science behind what Drug Recognition Experts do is flimsy to say the least. The officer is supposed to run a battery of tests on the driver to determine: Whether the person’s ability to drive is impaired and, Which type of drug has caused the impairment if unknown. The officer may believe a driver is impaired by drugs but not know […]

Continue Reading

Is It Against the Law to Drive After Huffing?

It is against the law in Michigan to drive after huffing if you are “under the influence” or impaired from huffing. It’s not against the law to drive after huffing if you’re not under the influence or impaired by the huffing. However, it is still against the law to huff an inhalant as a drug. Operating While Intoxicated by Huffing It is against Michigan law to operate while intoxicated by an intoxicating substance. What’s an intoxicating substance? An […]

Continue Reading

Can You Be Convicted of Drinking and Driving When You’re Under .08?

We all know the legal limit for drinking and driving is .08. Let’s say you’re under .08 and pulled over by the police while driving. Will this prevent you from going to jail? The .08 Number Driving with a blood alcohol content of over .08 is against the law in Michigan. The law presumes that a person with a BAC of .08 or over is intoxicated. It doesn’t matter if the person is driving perfectly – if you’re […]

Continue Reading